I have no name, just countless stamps on my passport..

Nomad, dacia, göçebe, arapi, nomade, and the list is endless. These never heard before words simply mean “nomad” in different languages. So I like to say and believe that I don’t have just one name. I have endless names beginning with the name my family gave me, that name in so many languages, the silly names my friends confer on me and those in endless languages. So I don’t have a name! I am just a little girl who belongs to this beautiful world. I don’t belong to one country. I belong to this world. I so wish we had a “World Passport” and that would have spared us all so many visa issues. But what’s fun without a little leg and paper work ehh?

So don’t ask me my name, just ask me who I am. Don’t ask me where am I from, just ask me where I have been and where I intend to go next. Don’t ask me my qualifications, ask me about my experiences of solo travel. Don’t ask me for my photo albums, just ask me about my visa stamps on my passport. After all, the best stories are found between the pages of a passport.

And here is my favorite quote “What’s in a name? That which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet.” – William Shakespeare.

Ever wonder, what’s your family given name called in a different language?

Leave a Reply

